Kings and prophets in the Old Testament

I needed to make sense of all the kings and prophets in the OT, and since I like complicating things, I chose to make my own chart. This meant that I could include the information I deemed important (causes of death and contemporary kings and prophets), and omit that I wasn’t too concerned about (dates).

Methodology: Almost all the data is straight from the Bible, either stated explicitly or implicitly. Naturally, I consulted a Bible dictionary for the meanings of the names. As regards the cause of death of a monarch, I chose ‘natural’ where the Bible doesn’t explicitly state it.

Contents:

  • Kings in Judah
  • Kings in Israel
  • Prophets in both kingdoms

I’ve prepared four PDFs: one for each of the above (in summary form on one page) and one with all of the above (verbose, eight pages long). Hope they help you make sense of all those names!

Kings and prophets in OT Israel (verbose)

Kings in Judah (summary)

Kings in Israel (summary)

Prophets in Judah and Israel (summary)

One Comment on “Kings and prophets in the Old Testament”

  1. […] of the most viewed posts on this blog (currently at #6) is Kings and prophets in the Old Testament, in which I tried to make sense of all those monarchs. The lists I prepared for that post are fine […]