Context, context

I’ve been inspired by a vintage Boundless article, Overcoming Verse-Bite Christian Culture, to write this post. That article takes a very close look at 1 Thessalonians 5:22, “Abstain from all appearance of evil”. A recommended read.

My paltry contribution is on Revelation 3:20

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

This verse is often quoted to unbelievers. However, its original audience was the church in Laodicea; granted, not very good believers, but believers nonetheless.

As for the eating, that in John’s day was a sign of fellowship. Even today, we eat with people we like– going out for a coffee and that sort of thing.The part where the Lord says “If anyone hears my voice” reminds me of John’s gospel, where He said, “My sheep listen to my voice”.

So, Jesus was saying to the Laodicean church (among other things) that He desired fellowship with them, His flock, and He says the same to us today.

