The life of a saint

I’m a hymn-lover. Alright maybe not all of them, but if given the choice between my favourite hymns and my favourite contemporary worship songs, it’s not a choice I’ll need a lot of time to think through. So I wholeheartedly recommend these videos on the lives of hymn writers who lived some centuries ago (with the exception of Johnny Cash, who, to the best of my knowledge, didn’t write any hymns. He also lived comparatively recently). The videos’ original container was a sermon series entitled The Rebel’s guide to joy (that I shall have to check out some time in the near future).

In parentheses after the writers’ names is one of the hymns they wrote—just to help associate the person and their work.

Robert Robinson (Come Thou fount)

William Cowper (There is a fountain filled with blood)

Charlotte Elliot (Just as I am)

Horatio Spafford (It is well)

Phillip Bliss (Man of sorrows)

Johnny Cash

John Newton (Amazing Grace)

Charles Wesley (And can it be)

Isaac Watts (When I survey)

Fanny Crosby (Blessed Assurance)

