What I’m listening to

I’m still idle.  I’ve done almost all I’d always wanted to do, but couldn’t because I had no time. That leaves me with the things I didn’t want to do, but couldn’t because I had no time. 😛

Anyway, I’ve been listening to a lot of good stuff, figuring that when I eventually cease being idle, I won’t have as much time to do so. Here are the podcasts I’m subscribed to in iTunes, in alphabetical order:

The Boundless Show
The Boundless Show

The Boundless Show

I admit to spending way too much time on Boundless properties. They’ve got a blog, a webzine and this podcast, all geared towards the 20-something/ 30-something Christian single.  I first stumbled onto Boundless sometime in May 2007, and have been a happy lurker ever since.

I listen to the Boundless Show on my way long commute to church on Sunday mornings. Also, when I grow up,  I want to be wise like Candice. And awesome like Lisa.

Covenant Life Church
Covenant Life Church

Covenant Life Church

It was through Boundless that I came to know of New Attitude (see below), and of New Attitude’s founder, Josh Harris, who is senior pastor at Covenant Life Church.

Covenant Life has a bunch of pastors, and they typically preach through a book of the Bible verse-by-verse (current series is on Ephesians).  I listen to the sermon podcast before the Boundless podcast (it’s a really long commute) on Sunday mornings.

Geeks and God podcast
Geeks and God podcast

Geeks and God podcast

I have no clue as to how I found Geeks & God. I recently rediscovered it when going through my Firefox bookmarks ( I have something like 500) in a moment of idleness (what else?).

The podcast is hosted by Rob Feature (real name: Bob Christensen) and Matt Farina, who are all about helping churches and ministry work better with technology, mainly web stuff. I listen to the podcast whenever I feel like it.

Mars Hill Church
Mars Hill Church

Mars Hill Church

Pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill takes a lot of fire—both friendly and not. He’s unusual, to say the least. His doctrine and theology hold up to scrutiny fairly well; his methods don’t fare so well.

So why do I still listen to him? For one, none of us is perfect, we’re all works in progress. More importantly, he’s a good Bible teacher.Would I recommend this podcast to everyone? No. Why? Because. Just because.

Truth for Life
Truth for Life

Truth for Life

Another podcast that has its origins in Boundless. Pastor Alistair Begg also preaches verse-by-verse. But the feel is more like a Bible study than a sermon, as he spends 40 minutes on a handful of verses. And it’s all done in his wonderful Scottish accent.

The podcasts are based on his radio program, and have messages at the beginning and end that may become a little tedious. Also, being based on a radio program means they are all 25 minutes 1 second long, perfect for listening to when short on time.

And now on to podcasts I’m not subscribed to in iTunes:

Next (formerly New Attitude)

As I said above, I came to know of the New Attitude conference through Boundless. The Boundless folks were promoting the conference, and I downloaded the then most current audio files out of curiosity. I ended up downloading all the available messages from all past conferences. I won’t be making it to next month’s conference, so those messages will soon show up in my MP3 player!

The Albert Mohler Radio Program

For about a year now, I’ve listened to Dr Albert Mohler’s Ask Anything Wednesday. Dr Mohler’s all about having intelligent Christian conversation on his radio program, and I’ve benefitted much from his wisdom on many contemporary issues (such as homosexuality and same-sex marriage) as well as on doctrinal and Bible issues.

I’d love to marry a man who, like Dr Mohler, is  intelligent, articulate and loves Jesus.

The Theology Program

Found this less than 48 hours ago, and again the credit goes to Boundless.  The connections are these: Boundless introduced me to New Attitude, where I came to know Dr John Piper. One of Dr Piper’s sons is Abraham, who has a blog on which he linked to a blog post by Michael Patton, who runs The Theology Program. See how it’s Boundless’s “fault”?

Since I’m too lazy to summarise what The Theology Program is, here’s a handy link to what they say about themselves.

Ask Pastor John

How could I forget this? Shame on me! Pastor John Piper answers questions, most of them tough, all on the fly. John Piper’s got so much Bible knowledge packed into him, it’s just amazing. Plus, he’s also intelligent and eloquent. I’d love for my future husband to be like Piper, but I’m afraid that’s asking too much 😉

