Knowing Scripture

Knowing Scripture by R.C. Sproul
Knowing Scripture by R.C. Sproul

There was a poll on a blog I frequent asking how many of R. C. Sproul’s books one had read. My answer was “none”. That was the last stimulus of many that led me to read this little book (125 pages long). The book was written in 1977 and its intended audience is the layperson. IMHO, he would have done well to explain some of the ‘big words’ he uses in the book, e.g. referring to gifts of the Spirit as “pneumatic gifts”.

I enjoyed reading the book, and learned much that I hope to put into constant use. As with The Cross of Christ, I will use this blog as my notebook.The notes will form a seven-part series, one for each of the six chapters with one chapter split in two parts due to its length.

One more thing: After I finished reading, I confidently went back to the blog to say I’d read one book by Dr Sproul. Yippee for me!

