Reflections on March’s readings (2)

I’m reading through the Bible in a year, and every month I (try to) post about what I’ve read.

Here’s Part 1.

Galatians: I had no notes on Galatians, so I decided to read through the entire book in one sitting and see what emerged. Here, according to me, are the themes Paul touches on: justification by faith; enslavement to the law; being heirs of God’s promise; freedom from sin; freedom to follow the Spirit; caring for each other.

Ephesians: I had no notes on Ephesians, either, so I proceeded as above. Themes: blessings from God through Christ from before the foundation of the world; salvation by God’s grace through faith; contrasting what the Gentiles were before and after Christ; how to live in light of what God has done; how to live with each other.

Also of note in Ephesians are Paul’s prayers in 1;15-23 and 3:14-19. Of all things he could have asked for, he prays for knowledge. Maybe I need to change the content of my prayers…

Philippians: Same as above. Themes: Prayer; God is greater than wrong motives; live a life worthy of Christ; humility and thinking of others; righteousness through Christ; encouragement; thanks for their generosity.

I’m beginning to see some recurring themes here. Again, Paul prays for knowledge. Again, he exhorts his readers to live lives worthy of their calling in Christ. Again, he gives guidelines for living with each other in Christian community.

Who was Epaphroditus (2:25-30)? I’d like to interview him, and all the others who were the apostle Paul’s close associates (Timothy, Titus, Silas, Luke, etc). Oh, what stories of God’s grace they must have!

Incomplete as of 31st March:

Proverbs: I found How to Read Proverbs to be very helpful.

Leviticus: I had no idea that the person presenting the sacrifice was also supposed to kill it (1:5, 11; 3:2, 8). The only exception was an offering of a pigeon—the priest was tasked with killing it. All very hands-on. All very repetitive. Thank God for Christ’s sacrifice once-for-all!

Colossians: In 1:9-14, Paul prays again for knowledge, wisdom and understanding for the Colossians. He knows something we don’t…

Sources: Covenant Life Church, D.A. Carson, Mark Dever, myself

