Lies Women Believe About God

This is part 2 of 11 of a series based on the book Lies Women Believe. Read the introductory post or view all the posts in the series.

1. God is not really good. If He were, He would…

This is a lie few women consciously believe. But when things in our life don’t go as we thought they would, we are tempted to doubt God’s goodness, with questions like, “How could God have let this happen?” Or, “Why would He have withheld this [good thing] from me?” Once we doubt God’s goodness, we feel justified in rejecting His will and deciding right and wrong on our own terms.

The truth is that

  • God is good, and all He does is good. Psalm 31:19; 34:8; 100:5; 119:68; Ephesians 1:3-14
  • God never makes mistakes. Isaiah46:10; Romans 8:28-39

2. God doesn’t love me

Another lie we would never admit to believing. There is often a disconnect between what we know to be true and what we feel to be true. We look at our mess of a life and think, “No one loves me—not even God. If He loved me, I wouldn’t feel so lonely and unloved.”

The truth is:

  • God’s love for me is infinite and unconditional. John 15:13; Romans 5:8; Romans 8:32; Romans 8:38-39; Ephesians 3:14-19; 1 John 4:7-10.
  • I don’t have to perform to earn God’s love or favour. Ephesians 1:4-6
  • God always has my best interests at heart. Psalm 21

3. God is just like my father

Our perception of God can be positively or negatively shaped by our fathers. A person who has been wounded by a father may have difficulties in trusting God. But God isn’t like those men. Even the best father is a pale reflection of our heavenly Father.

The truth is:

  • God is exactly what He has revealed Himself to be in His word. John 1:1; Hebrews 1:3
  • God is infinitely more wise and loving than any earthly father could ever be. Hebrews 12:9-10

4. God is not really enough

When it comes down to it, we don’t believe God’s word is sufficient for whatever we may be facing. We need the Bible plus that book; the Bible plus that Christian conference.  Similarly we feel we need God plus close friends; God plus a good job, etc. We look to other things and people to fill the empty places of our hearts.

The truth is:

  • If I have God, I have all I need. Colossians 2:9-10; Psalm 23:1; Psalm 73:23-26

5. God’s ways are too restrictive

If we’re honest, we sometimes feel that the restrictions on our behaviour deny us pleasure. So we discard the restrictions and act as we choose, not realising that there are consequences.

The truth is:

  • God’s ways are best. Deuteronomy 6:24-25; Joshua 1:8
  • God’s restrictions are always for my good. James 1:19-27
  • Resisting or rebelling against God’s ways brings conflict and heartache. Psalm 68:6; Proverbs 15:32-33

6. God should fix my problems

There’s two problems with this way of thinking. First, we set ourselves up for disappointment. If we have problems that don’t get fixed, we become bitter at God. Secondly, it suggests that our goal in life is to live problem-free. Living an obedient Christian life doesn’t shield us from problems: we live in a fallen world. But the good news is that God isn’t detached from our pain and struggles. And He uses our problems to reveal His grace and power to the world.

The truth is:

  • Life is hard. Romans 8:21-22
  • God is more concerned about glorifying Himself and changing me than about solving all my problems. 2 Corinthians 4:17
  • God has an eternal purpose He is fulfilling in the midst of my problems. Romans 5:3-4; James 1:2-4
  • God wants to use my problems as part of His sanctifying process in my life. Job 23:10
  • No matter what problem I am facing, God’s grace is sufficient for me. 2 Corinthians 12: 7-10

My take on this chapter

With the exception of #3, I’ve believed these lies or variants of them. I’d say the ones I’m struggling with most right now are #4 and #6. I don’t like it that I’ve no job prospects so far, except for temporary stuff that I don’t feel cut out for. I pray that He’d be quick about getting me out of my desert (even though I know He doesn’t work like that).

