Lies Women Believe About Themselves

This is part 3 of 11 of a series based on the book Lies Women Believe. Read the introductory post or view all the posts in the series.

7. I’m not worth anything

Many women struggle with feeling inferior and needing reassurance from those around them regarding their value. Sometimes the input of others is helpful, but sometimes it isn’t, leading the listener to a life of misery and bondage that can last years.

The truth is:

  • My value is not determined by what others think of me or what I think of myself. My value is determined by how God views me. Psalm 139:1-18; Ephesians 1:3-8; 1 Peter 2:4
  • If I am a child of God, I am God’s cherished possession and treasure. Romans 8:1-2, 15-17; 1 Peter 2:9

8. I need to learn to love myself

According to the Bible, the problem is quite the opposite: we love ourselves too much. We need to learn to deny ourselves and to give others the same care and attention we give ourselves. Ms. De Moss here gives the example of suffering from a toothache. When I have a toothache, I seek out any and all remedies to relieve my pain. When it’s someone else, I’m not quite as accommodating.

The truth is:

  • By faith I need to receive God’s love for me. Galatians 2:20.
  • I already love myself. I need to deny myself and let God love others through me. Matthew 16:24-26; John 15:12; Ephesians 5:29

9. I can’t help the way I am

This is a lie that leads us into not accepting personal responsibility for our behaviour, choices, attitudes and actions. The implication of this statement is that we are victims reacting to the wounds inflicted on us by others and by our circumstances. If we believe we are doomed to fail, we will fail, we will keep on sinning and we will continue to be miserable.

The truth is:

  • If I am a child of God, I can choose to obey God.  Romans 6:1-14; 8:1-2
  • I am responsible for my own choices. Deuteronomy 30:19; Joshua 24:15
  • I can be changed through the power of God’s Spirit. Galatians 5:16; Philippians 2:13

10. I have my rights

Successful relationships aren’t built on the claiming of rights, but on the relinquishing of rights. We yield all rights to the One who ultimately holds all rights.

The truth is:

  • Yielding rights will set me free. John 6:38; Hebrews 10:7

11. Physical beauty matters more than inner beauty

Nowhere in Scripture is beauty condemned; what is condemned is taking pride in God-given beauty and neglecting matters of the heart.

The truth is:

  • At best, physical beauty is fleeting and temporal. Proverbs 31:30
  • The beauty that matters most to God is that of my inner spirit and character. 1 Samuel 16:7; 1 Timothy 2:9; 1 Peter 3:3-5

12. I should not have to live with unfulfilled longings

This has left many women searching for something to fill the emptiness. It manifests itself in behaviour such as lust, overeating or overspending.

The truth is:

  • I will always have unfulfilled longings this side of heaven. Romans 8:23, 25; Hebrews 11:13-16
  • The deepest longings of my heart cannot be filled by any created person or thing. Psalm 16:11; 73:25
  • If I will accept them, unfulfilled longings will increase my longing for God and for heaven. Deuteronomy 8:3; Psalm 34:8-10; Philippians 3:20-4:1

My take on this chapter

Can’t say I’ve had a major struggle with any of these 6 lies, especially not #11! 😉 Hmmm, maybe I’m being blind to my own faults…

