Lies women believe about sin

This is part 4 of 11 of a series based on the book Lies Women Believe. Read the introductory post or view all the posts in the series.

13. I can sin and get away with it

When we give into sin, we often consider only the pleasures and not the consequences. These consequences may affect us or others around us. They may be immediate or they may be a long time in coming.

The truth is:

  • The choices I make today will have consequences; I will reap what I sow. Genesis 3:4-5; Galatians 6:7-8
  • Sin’s pleasures last only for a season. Hebrews 11:25
  • Sin exacts a devastating toll. there are no exceptions. Psalm 10:6; Psalm 10:11; Psalm 10:13
  • If I play with fire, I will get burned. I will not escape the consequences of my sin. Psalm 32:1-5; James 1:13-15; Ecclesiastes 8:12; Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

14. My sin isn’t really that bad

This is especially true of those of us who’ve grown up in good or Christian homes. We compare ourselves to others who’re committing “big” sins and conclude that we’re not doing that badly. We may even think that our small sins aren’t sins at all, but weaknesses, struggles or personality traits.

As Ms. DeMoss puts it:

“If only we could see that every single sin is a big deal, that every sin is an act of rebellion and cosmic treason, that every time we choose our way instead of God’s way, we are revolting against the God of the universe.”

The truth is:

  • Every act of sin is an act of rebellion against God. Romans 5:6-7; Romans 5:10; 1 John 1:5-10
  • No sin is small. Proverbs 5:21; Proverbs 20:27; Habakkuk 1:13; Romans 6:23; Galatians 5:19-21; James 5:19-20

15. God can’t forgive what I have done

There are many people who carry around great guilt and shame over their failures. Thought hey know that God can forgive them, they don’t feel forgiven. They find it difficult to believe that He would forgive them without some sort of “penance”. The problem is that no amount of good deeds can deal with the guilt of even one sin against a holy God.

“It was at Calvary that God’s mercy and love for sinners and the Truth of His holy hatred for sin found a meeting place. At Calvary, God heaped upon Jesus all the punishment for all the sin of the world. At the same time, He offered peace and reconciliation to sinners who had been estranged from Him. The Cross shows us in the starkest possible terms what God thinks of our sin; it reveals the incredible cost He paid to redeem us from those ‘weaknesses’ that we trivialize in our minds. The Cross also displays in brilliant Technicolor the love and mercy of God for even the ‘chief of sinners.’ ”

The truth is:

  • The blood of Jesus is sufficient to cover any and every sin I have committed. 1 John 1:7
  • There is no sin too great for God to forgive. Psalm 85:10; Psalm 130:3-4
  • God’s grace is greater than the greatest sin anyone could ever commit. Romans 3:24-25; Romans 6:11-14

16. I am not fully responsible for my actions and reactions

In the Garden, when Adam and Eve were asked by God, What have you done?, they both played the Blame Game. The answers they gave were both accurate; regardless of what had influenced them to make that choice, it was still their choice. Only by accepting full responsibility for our sins can we be fully free from guilt.

The truth is:

  • God does not hold me accountable for the actions of others. Genesis 3:11-13; Ezekiel 18:19-22
  • I am responsible for my own choices. Psalm 51:1-10; Philippians 4:8-9; Colossians 3:1-17

17. I cannot walk in consistent victory over sin

Many Christians have bought into the lie that they can’t be free of certain sinful habits, despite their deep desire to please God. When we make choices to obey sin rather than God, we form patterns that are hard to break. We may try to do the right thing, and fail. This is where the devil tells us that we’ll always be that way, and we give up.

We need to remember that through Christ’s finished work on the cross, we can live in victory over sin; we are no longer slaves to sin and Satan.

The truth is:

  • If I’m a child of God, I don’t have to sin. Romans 6:14
  • I am not a slave to sin. through Christ I have been set free from sin. John 8:31-32; John 8:36; John 14:6; Romans 6:6-7; Galatians 5:1; Hebrews 10:10
  • By God’s grace and through the finished work of Christ on the cross, I can experience victory over sin. John 15:5; 1 Corinthians 6:9-11; Galatians 2:20; Galatians 5:22-25

My take on this chapter

On # 13: I’ve often seen this in my life and the lives of others. We think we can get away with sin because we’re the exception to the rule: “I’m being careful, not like so-and-so!” “It’s not like I do it all the time.” Habitual sin is a slow fade.

On #14: I still struggle with self-righteousness. I just pray that I will see people as God sees them. And that I see myself as God sees me— a frail human in desperate, continuous need of His grace.

