Lies Women Believe About Priorities

This is part 5 of 11 of a series based on the book Lies Women Believe. Read the introductory post or view all the posts in the series.

18. I don’t have time to do everything I’m supposed to do

We feel overwhelmed by all the tasks we need to accomplish, despite the many conveniences and appliances that are supposed to free us up so that we can do other things. Why?

One answer may be that we’re taking on things that we weren’t meant to. In John 17:4, Jesus states that He had accomplished the task given Him by His Father. There were many people who still needed healing; the disciples wanted Him to set up an earthly kingdom: none of these were part of His God-given mission (even though they had their merits). In the same way, we should keep an eye on God’s “to do” list for our lives. This list is different from what He’s given others, and in different seasons of life, it may vary.

Another lie related to this is, “I can do it all!” We can’t. Something along the way is going to suffer, and we’re likely to end up exhausted.

The truth is:

  • There is time in every day to do everything God wants me to do. Psalm 90:10-12; Luke 10:38-42; John 17:4; Acts 20:24; Ephesians 2:10

19. I can make it without consistent time in the Word and prayer

This is another of those lies we don’t say out aloud. But in the busyness of life, maybe filled with “spiritual activities”, we leave little time for cultivating a personal relationship with Christ.One of the enemy’s aims is to have us live on our own steam, not in conscious dependence on the Holy Spirit.

The truth is:

  • It is impossible for me to be the woman God wants me to be apart from spending consistent time cultivating a relationship  with Him in the Word and in prayer. Job 23:12; Psalm 5:3; Psalm 119:147; Proverbs 2:1-6; Proverbs 3:5-6; Matthew 6:25-34; Matthew 14:23; James 4:6

20. A career outside the home is more valuable and fulfilling than being a wife and mother

Today’s average woman desires to be more than just a wife and mother. But that is what God made us to be: the bearers and nurturers of life, and the helper to our husbands.

The truth is:

  • In the will of God, there is not higher, holier calling than to be a wife and mother. 1 Timothy 5:9-10
  • God uniquely designed the woman to be a bearer and nurturer of life. Genesis 2:24; Genesis 3:20
  • There is no greater measure of a woman’s worth or success than the extent to which she serves at the heart of her home. 1 Corinthians 7:32-35; Titus 2:4-5
  • God’s plan is that woman’s primary attention and efforts should be devoted to ministering to the needs of her husband and children. Genesis 2:18

My take on this chapter

I’ve swallowed lie #18. I can’t recall where I read or heard the following rebuttal to the statement I have no time: “Of course you have the time. You just spend it doing something else!” How true. I still struggle with making time for the really important stuff, though. Sigh.

#19: It’s amazing how often I still fall for this one.

#20: I’m torn over this one, or rather over the explanation Ms DeMoss gives.  She is right in pointing out that when women join the workforce, their children are raised by others, women are put in situations where they may find themselves attracted to male co-workers, families seldom sit down together, etc. She also talks of the assumption that culture has made regarding the necessity of two-income families.  She does concede that the ideal is not always possible.  I don’t know. I’m sure if and when I get married, I’ll be a working mum (Unless I marry a really well-off guy; the way things are looking I’ll be lucky to get married at all). However, I would love to be physically present for my baby’s first step, for their first words, and such other precious, unrepeatable moments.

