Lies Women Believe About Circumstances

This is part 9 of 11 of a series based on the book Lies Women Believe. Read the introductory post or view all the posts in the series.

36. If my circumstances were different, I would be different

The implication of this statement is that our circumstances make us what we are. We feel that we would be more loving, more patient and easier to live with if our upbringing, our environment and the people around us were different. The truth is, our circumstances reveal what we are.  We may not realise how impatient we are until we encounter a set of circumstances that show us how we really are.

The truth is:

  • My circumstances do not make me what I am, they merely reveal what I am. Matthew 6:21; 15:19; Luke 6:45
  • If I am not content with my present circumstances, I am not likely to be happy in any other set of circumstances. Philippians 4:11-12
  • I may not be able to control my circumstances, but my circumstances do not have to control me. Hebrews 13:5; James 1:2-5
  • Every circumstance that touches my life has first been filtered through His fingers of love.  Genesis 45:8; 50:20; Job 1:8-12; Psalm 139:16; Matthew 10:29-31; Romans 8:28

37. I shouldn’t have to suffer

By convincing us that our suffering is undeserved or unnecessary, the Enemy succeeds in getting us to resent and resist the will and purposes of God. God is far more interested in our holiness than in our immediate, temporal happiness; He knows that apart from being holy, we can never truly be happy.

The truth is:

  • It is impossible to be holy without suffering. There is a redemptive fruit that cannot be produced in our lives apart from suffering.
  • We have been called to suffer. Acts 14:22; Hebrews 5:8; 1 Peter 2:21; 3:9
  • True joy is not the absence of pain, but he presence of the Lord Jesus in the midst of the pain. Suffering is pathway to sanctification, a doorway to greater intimacy with God. Psalm 23:4; Hebrews 2:10, 17-18; 1 Peter 5:10

38. My circumstances will never change—this will go on forever

Your pain may go on for a long time, but it will not last forever.  Even a lifetime is not forever. In the light of eternity, when we are with the Lord, everything that has taken place in this life will be just a breath.

The truth is:

  • My suffering may last a long time, but it will not last forever. Psalm 30:5, 11-12; Romans 8:18; 2 Corinthians 4:8-18; James 1:2-4
  • My painful circumstances will not last one moment longer than God knows is necessary to achieve His eternal purposes in and through my life. Genesis 12:4-5; 21:5; 40:23-41:1; Joshua 10:12-14; John 11:17
  • One day, all pain, all suffering and all tears will be removed forever. Isaiah 35:1, 10; Revelation 21:1-7

39. I just can’t take any more

The Enemy knows that if we believe this lie, we’ll live in defeat and hopelessness. Regardless of what our circumstances and feelings may tell us, God’s word says, “My grace is sufficient for you” (2 Cor 12:9). His divine resources are available to meet our needs—no matter how great.

The truth is:

  • Whatever my circumstance, whatever my situation, His grace is sufficient for me. Psalm 130:5; 2 Corinthians 12:7-10
  • God will never place more on me than He will give me grace to bear. 2 Corinthians 11:22-30

40. It’s all about me

It’s not enough for us to be the centre of our own universe, we want to be at the centre of everyone else’s—including God’s. The truth is, God doesn’t exist for us; we exist for God.

The truth is:

  • God is the beginning and ending and centre of all things. All things were created by Him and for Him. It’s all about Him! Acts 20:24; Colossians 1:16-18
  • My life is dispensable. I was created for His pleasure and glory. Philippians 1:20-21; 3:7-11; Revelation 4:11

My take on this chapter

#36: What, you mean that my life wouldn’t be different if I had a job??

