Lies Women Believe: The truth that sets us free

This is part 11 of 11 of a series based on the book Lies Women Believe. Read the introductory post or view all the posts in the series.

In this last chapter, Nancy Leigh DeMoss highlights twenty-two truths that she holds to be crucial for Christian women in our day to believe and embrace. I’d add that they’re good for Christians of both genders to meditate on.

  1. God is good (Psalm 119:68; 136:1). Regardless of the circumstances, regardless of what we feel or think, God is good and everything He does is good.
  2. God loves me and wants me to have His best (Romans 8:32, 38-39). God doesn’t love us because we’re lovable or worthy, but because He is love. There is absolutely nothing we can do to earn or desire His love. We cannot comprehend such unconditional love; but if we believe it and receive it, His love will transform our lives.
  3. I am complete and accepted in Christ (Ephesians 1:4-6). I don’t have to perform to made acceptable to God. Why? Because Jesus—the pure, sinless Son of God—is acceptable to Him, and we stand in Him.
  4. God is enough (Psalm 23:1). If we have Him, we have everything we need for our present peace and happiness.
  5. God can be trusted (Isaiah 28:16). God keeps His promises.
  6. God doesn’t make any mistakes (Isaiah 46:10). God is always fulfilling His eternal purposes, and they cannot be thwarted by any human failure. If we are in Christ, our lives are in His hand and nothing can touch our lives that has not first been “filtered through His fingers of love”.
  7. God’s grace is sufficient for me (2 Corinthians 12:9). As a child of God, I will never face a circumstance that exceeds His grace.
  8. The blood of Christ is sufficient to cover all my sin (1 John 1:7). There is not a sin I have ever committed or could ever commit that cannot be forgiven and covered by the all-sufficient sacrifice of Jesus’ blood. This should not cause us to take sin more lightly; to the contrary, the realisation that our sin required the lifeblood of the Lord Jesus should leave us broken and humbled in spirit, and determined to choose the pathway of obedience, by the power of His indwelling Holy Spirit.
  9. The Cross of Christ is sufficient to conquer my sinful flesh (Romans 6:6-7). Through the death of Christ and my union with Him, I am no longer a slave to sin. I have been set free from its dominion and power.
  10. My past does not have to plague me (1 Corinthians 6:9-11). Our past does not have to be a hindrance. By god’s grace, it can become a stepping-stone to greater victory and faithfulness.
  11. God’s word is sufficient to lead me, teach me, heal me (Psalm 19:7; 107:20; 119:105). Many believers today view Scripture as one of a number of valuable resources, or as a last resort, after everything has been tried. The Truth is, the Word of God is alive and powerful. Whatever our need, whatever our circumstances, the Word of God is sufficient to meet that need, and the needs of those we love.
  12. Through the power of His Holy Spirit, God will enable me to do anything He commands me to do (1 Thessalonians 5:24; Philippians 2:13). God does not command us to do anything that He does not give us the grace to obey, as we depend on Him. This means, for example, that  there is no one we cannot forgive (Mark 11:25); there is no one we cannot love (Matthew 5:44); we can give thanks in all things ( 1 Thessalonians 5:18); we can be content in every circumstance ( Hebrews 13:5). The issue isn’t that we can’t obey God, but that we’re unwilling to do so.
  13. I am responsible before God for my behaviour, responses and choices (Ezekiel 18:19-22). God does not hold me accountable for the reactions of others; I am responsible for how i respond to them, regardless of how they treat me.
  14. I will reap whatever I sow (Galatians 6:7-8). The choices we make today will have consequences down the road, not only in our lives, but also in the lives of others.
  15. The pathway to true joy is to relinquish control (Matthew 16:25; Luke 1:38; 1 Peter 5:7). The only way to experience true freedom and peace is to relinquish all control to God, believing that He can be trusted to manage all that concerns us.
  16. The greatest freedom I can experience is found in submission to God-ordained authority (Ephesians 5:21). When we resist authority, we become more vulnerable to Satan’s attacks and sin.
  17. In the will of God, there is no higher, holier calling than to be a wife and mother (Titus 2:4-5). True fulfillment and joy are found through discovering why God made us and then embracing that created purpose and design. Marriage and motherhood are God’s norm for most women.
  18. Personal holiness is more important than temporal happiness (Ephesians 5:26-27). To choose the pathway of holiness will sometimes require sacrificing our personal comfort and convenience. But any sacrifice we make is temporary, and cannot be compared with the joy and fulfillment we will gain in eternity.
  19. God is more concerned about changing me and glorifying Himself than about solving my problems (Romans 8:29). God does not exist to solve our problems. It’s not that He doesn’t care about the things that matter to us; He does. But everything that matters to us must be subordinate to what matters most to Him.
  20. It is impossible to be godly without suffering (1 Peter 5:10). The process of sanctification takes place as we embrace our suffering, rather than running from it or resenting it.
  21. My suffering will not last forever (2 Corinthians 4:17-18). All suffering is purposeful and intentional. God has a specific objective in mind for our suffering. He knows exactly the intention and duration that are needed to fulfill His purposes. He will not allow our suffering to last any longer or to be any more sever than is necessary to accomplish His will.
  22. It’s not about me; it’s all about Him (Colossians 1:16-18: Revelation 4:11)! The entire universe—including you and me—was created to revolve around the One Who is high and lifted  up and seated on His throne.

♥The end♥

