Springing into a clean home

Nelima’s blog is 3 years old today! For a present I’m giving it a makeover, switching from the Bueno theme to the Clean Home theme.

Now, my opinion is that Bueno is an excellent theme: more customisable than most (7 colour schemes!) and aesthetically pleasing. I’m sure the owners of the 151,858 blogs on WordPress.com currently using Bueno—and the oodles of others elsewhere—would agree with me on that. It’s just that my vanity dislikes the idea of being one in so many, a handful of which I’ve visited.

After my experience with the instantly-recognisable Bueno, I was in the market for something more anonymous. Clean Home is just that. I was drawn to its minimalism and the fact that it has nested lists in the sidebar (seriously!).

As always, here are the requisite screenshots:

Before: Bueno

Bueno (theme) and Kaffeesatz (font)
Bueno (theme) and Kaffeesatz (font)

In way of customisation, I’d gone for the brown colour scheme and had added the Kaffeesatz font for headings.

Categories in the Bueno theme
Categories in the Bueno theme

The categories are arranged alphabetically.

After: Clean Home

Clean Home (theme) and Acuta (font)
Clean Home (theme) and Acuta (font)

In order to add a touch of personality, I’ve opted for the Acuta font. I’m still searching for a background image I actually like. (Update: I decided to go for a subtle background colour instead. Lazy me!)

Categories in the Clean Home theme
Categories in the Clean Home theme

Oh, bliss! Hierarchical categories!

Update: Author comments get special styling!

Author comments in Clean Home
Author comments in Clean Home

I hope Clean Home and I will have a long relationship.

Another update: I’ve found something I don’t like about Clean Home. The categories and tags within a post link to the global categories and tags on WordPress.com. According to this forum thread, it is for SEO purposes. I couldn’t care less about SEO. Too bad for me I can’t remove them, either. 😦

*The title of this post plays on the new theme’s name, the season of spring (which started a week ago), spring-cleaning and springing one hour ahead for Daylight Saving (which started 1.5 days ago), but I didn’t expect you to figure all that out 🙂

One thought on “Springing into a clean home

Comments are closed.