What did Jesus come to do?

Jesus Christ’s agenda for His ministry was to do His Father’s will. The gospel writers Luke and John used the Greek word dei to convey to their readers what it was necessary for Jesus to do and have done to Him.

Carry out divinely-appointed encounters

“Why were you searching for me?” he asked. “Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?”
-Luke 2:49

But he said, “I must proclaim the good news of the kingdom of God to the other towns also, because that is why I was sent.”
-Luke 4:43

When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.”
-Luke 19:5

Now he had to go through Samaria.
-John 4:4

Suffer and be rejected

And he said, “The Son of Man must suffer many things and be rejected by the elders, the chief priests and the teachers of the law, and he must be killed and on the third day be raised to life.”
-Luke 9:22, parallels in Matthew 16:21, Mark 8:31

“But first he must suffer many things and be rejected by this generation.”
-Luke 17:25

“‘The Son of Man must be delivered over to the hands of sinners, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ ”
-Luke 24:7

“Did not the Messiah have to suffer these things and then enter his glory?”
-Luke 24:26

Fulfill scripture

“It is written: ‘And he was numbered with the transgressors’; and I tell you that this must be fulfilled in me. Yes, what is written about me is reaching its fulfillment.”
-Luke 22:37

He said to them, “This is what I told you while I was still with you: Everything must be fulfilled that is written about me in the Law of Moses, the Prophets and the Psalms.”
-Luke 24:44

Be lifted up

“Just as Moses lifted up the snake in the wilderness, so the Son of Man must be lifted up.”
-John 3:14

The crowd spoke up, “We have heard from the Law that the Messiah will remain forever, so how can you say, ‘The Son of Man must be lifted up’? Who is this ‘Son of Man’?”
-John 12:34

Gather His sheep

“I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd.”
-John 10:16

Rise from the dead

They still did not understand from Scripture that Jesus had to rise from the dead.
-John 20:9

Be believed in for salvation

“Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”
-Acts 4:12

Be received by heaven until the appointed time

“Heaven must receive him until the time comes for God to restore everything, as he promised long ago through his holy prophets.”
-Acts 3:21

This post isn’t an original idea, but came out of a study Bible.

