Do you have a Bible reading plan?

For two years now, I’ve been following a daily Bible reading plan, and I love it! (And I’m not the only one) In 2012, I plan to use a chronological reading plan because (a) I’ve never tried it before, and (b) the daily readings consist of large chunks of text, which I also love. I’ve been thinking why I didn’t start this practice sooner, and here are some of the objections I would have raised:

Objection #1: Why do I need a plan? Well, when did you last read all of Obadiah? Do you realise that it is able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ? Having a plan and following it takes you to the deep recesses of Leviticus and the second half of Exodus that you wouldn’t venture into otherwise. 🙂 Plus, you don’t spend time choosing what to read next.

Objection #2: I don’t have the time. Of course you do. You just spend it doing something else. Like with other spiritual disciplines, you have to make time. The devil won’t sit around twiddling his proverbial thumbs as you make an effort to grow in Christ.

Objection #3: What if I fall behind? It’s like medicine—if you miss a dose, just take the next one.

On a practical level, you may want to start small, for example with this 28-day plan which contains passages from both the Old and New Testament. Alternatively, the Navigators  have plans with 25 readings a month: you can use the extra days to catch up or for reflection.

Objection #4. I don’t want it to become just another routine. I heartily agree. But wouldn’t you agree that the benefits of daily Bible reading outweigh the drawbacks?

Committing to reading 2, 4, or 10 chapters a day isn’t easy. But it’s so worth it. So, go get yourself a plan you’re comfortable with and pray to the God who wrote the Bible that you may stick to reading it and glorify Him in the whole process!

