Those repetitious apostles

Peter, do you have a new word from God for us?

I shall not fail to remind you of things like this although you know them and are already established in the truth. I consider it my duty, as long as I live in the temporary dwelling of this body, to stimulate you by these reminders. I know that I shall have to leave this body at very short notice, as our Lord Jesus Christ made clear to me. Consequently I shall make the most of every opportunity, so that after I am gone you will remember these things.
–2 Peter 1:12-15, J. B. Phillips New Testament

Paul, what about you? Anything new?

To write the same things to you is no trouble to me and is safe for you.
–Philippians 3:1b, ESV

Ummm… John?

Dear friends, I am not writing you a new command but an old command that you have had from the beginning. The old command is the message you have heard.
–1 John 2:7, HCSB

3 thoughts on “Those repetitious apostles

  1. Yes, indeed! I suppose that the apostles new better than most how often we need reminding. Think back on their own growth and they walked with and were taught by the Lord Himself: He washed the disciples feet, He told them the first shall be last, He taught them not to “Lord it over” another but “he who wishes to be chief, shall be the servant.” And how did the disciples do with this clear teaching? Umm, not so good.

    And how many times did Jesus refer to his death. burial, and resurrection? And yet, they still doubted till after He appeared to them… having to be taught and retaught.

    Yep. I think the disciples were keenly aware that repetition (especially of the gospel) was of great benefit to all of His followers that were under their teaching. How easily we “forget.”

Comments are closed.